3 Year wait but finally… KTM 690

This may be the longest I have ever waited to obtain something that I have really wanted. For me that is a gigantic feat as I am quite impatient. Obviously we don’t always need what we want, or get it due to certain reasons but this one has definitely been playing on my mind for the past 3 years.

Long story short, I test rode the new KTM Duke 690 the very VERY first day they arrived in our stores way back in January 2013. I was actually fizzing waiting for them to arrive and had read and watched everything about them.

At the time I had my Suzuki GSXR 600 and wanted something like a naked/street fighter and a bit more easy going for our roads but still a hooligan bike. I then got an insane trade deal on a 2011 Triumph Speed Triple which was really amazing and is still up there for me as one of the best bikes.

Some new products or things come an go with desire but others you constantly think about them. It is still so hard to believe I actually pulled the trigger on one, but it was just perfect timing.

Waiting a little bit meant that I got a mint 2014, one owner with only 5,000km for cheaper than even some of the used Duke 390’s!

Ill probably wait a little before I do a ride review and gain some more feedback, but impressions after my first week of ownership is it definitely has more mid and top end pull than I was expecting from the little single thumper motor.

With two colour options available I think I would have gone with the white and orange if I purchased new, but like everything I would probably want the black and orange anyway in a few months..

A few pics from my first week of riding it.

012bcad1c23c6368fe14068a20866a930dceb3eef5DSC_0253DSCF0383DSCF0033KTM2KTM1KTM5KTM3KTM7

DSCF0030

Leave a Reply

